Bill Curtis – “Don’t Be Like The Buffalo”

(The following is a newsletter from Mr. Bill Curtis, shared with his permission.)

Don’t Be Like the BuffaloPete Everett and Thomas LivingstonHey guys!!! We are in another year “2014” and the funk is going to be hotter this year than last year. in one of my previous newsletters, I mentioned I didn’t think the internet was friendly to black music. this is just my feeling, but one thing I noticed in 2013 but I don’t know if anyone else noticed or not, but there was not one black artist on the billboard top 10 for 2013.

I don’t know when the last time this happen, maybe 55 years ago I guess. I’m not saying this came about by the internet or that the internet is the reason, but I did notice a lot of the top 10 artist use black music and black artist to help produce and get them into the BB top 10.

Lynn Muldrow and Ledjerick WoodsTechnology is a wonderful thing. It’s good and on the other hand, its bad. What I mean is it is good for one side and bad for the other side. I feel that black artists are getting the short end of the stick. I know there are black artist out there still making good music because I hear it, but then the internet to me is moving very fast creating a certain kind of sound. I see the pattern…very hard for me to explain. It looks to me like cultureless, not border on any culture, but borrowing and mixing from all into one Global music sound .

I don’t care how hard they try to be anti- Cultural, there no get around black Culture. Black culture dominates the music world as long as there music our culture will live—and that’s my take!!

Bill Curtis and Ed JacksonI remember so well when black music wasn’t even considered for top ten or top forty. We were the other music from cross the tracks. We fought hard to get billboard to start including black music in the top forty categories. I hope history isn’t trying to repeat itself (but it has). It’s hard to keep a culture alive and vibrant when you don’t own your own media. Not having a black artist in the top 10 in 2013 is telling me something about how musical and socially we are divided.

I think technology is creating a different breed of music lovers. I know each generation wants to create their own style and express themselves in a way they feel.

Darryl McAlisterBack in the days, music producers came from a musical background. Today’s creators of songs and music… very few, comes from a musical background. This is a reflection of there generation. Hey technology have them believing they don’t have to study to make music or sing… and the result is what we are hearing now. The ones that figure this thing out, that’s what they need, to take next step, to go to school and learn how to make music. They will be our next innovators and creators of good music.

If you haven’t seen American Hustler check it out. The setting might be in the seventies. The moral of the story is the real world we live in now.

PS: is the technocrat sending a message we don’t need you? Where are the black executives, CEO’s, no one in the position to handle budgets, Hell! We don’t have any in the Music Industry (Maybe three).

PPS Don’t want to be like the buffalo.

(c) 2000 – 2014 Bonnie Cehovet

Reproduction prohibited without the written permission of the author.

About Bonnie Cehovet

Bonnie Cehovet is a writer and professional Tarot reader, residing in the Pacific Northwest.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

